Why the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel Makes Me So Sad

It’s not the reason you think it is.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor

--

Image licensed with Envato Elements

If you’ve followed me outside of my writing, then you have no doubt seen the many adventures of my dog Percy, a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. Brought into the family just before the first ravages of coronavirus lockdowns, he’s been a bright spot in my life and one of the greatest catalysts in helping me resolve my trauma.

I love my dog deeply, but there’s a certain sadness that I get every time I look at him too. No, it’s not the standard sadness that one feels looking at their dog. It has little to do with the passing of time or any of the other cliches.

Rather, it’s a realization. Of why these dogs were created, why they still exist after hundreds of years with minimal change. It makes me sad to know that this little ball of love was made for one thing only: to love and be loved. Why? Because, as humans, we struggle to give such pure, unquestioned love to one another.

An early-day designer companion.

The history of the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel is a long and star-studded one (long before Charlotte came onto the scene). Sure, the breed we know and love today results from a turn-of-the-century rebirth. The breed itself, however, descends from the toy spaniels that we…

--

--