What I’ve Learned as a Narcissistic Abuse Recovery Coach

Lessons in life, love, loss, and what it means to be betrayed by the people who you love most.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
7 min readJul 30, 2022

--

Rain on the window against a dark autumnal background of trees and houses.
Image by stevanovicigor via Envato Elements

by E.B. Johnson

When I launched my narcissistic abuse recovery program a year ago, I thought I had a lot to teach the world about narcissists and the families that they build. Having experienced narcissistic abuse at the hands of my mother, I have an intimate knowledge of how this insidious form of destruction works.

But I did not know how much my clients would also teach me about narcissistic abuse, recovery, and what it means to love and be loved by your family. I had no idea the lessons they held in store or what it would mean for my journey to happiness, wholeness, and the power to empower others on this path.

What I’ve learned as a narcissistic abuse recovery coach.

Knowledge is power. The more we know, the more we share, the better off we all become. That’s certainly true with narcissistic abuse and recovery. So, these are the biggest lessons I’ve learned that can help you improve where you’re at and how you’re progressing on your own recovery journey.

Family isn’t the end-all, be-all

--

--