People Change When You’re About to Make It Big. Pay Attention to These Clues.

These two changes in the people around you could be a sign that you’ve finally found success.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
8 min readFeb 19, 2024

--

The idea of “making it” is a big deal when you come from a background like mine. Working class. Adopted. Layers of trauma. By all rights, people like me are supposed to be a statistic, but I’ve always had my sights set higher. Imagine my surprise when I got there and realized it looked nothing like I had imagined…

Specifically, I had always worked toward an idea of success that involved others. I thought that, once I had “hit it big” in the things I was pursuing, I would find more and more people around me. Like-minded people. People with vision and with goals. A chosen family of others striving to thrive, but that wasn’t the case.

Instead, what I found (even now) as I stride closer and closer to my goal of personal success is that I was lonelier and lonelier. The crowds weren’t growing by the finish line, cheering me on. Each step taken toward my goals seemed to thin out the herd. What? More importantly, why? Wasn’t it supposed to be different?

I learned the lesson the hard way.

The closer you get to success, the more you change. Bigger than that, the closer…

--

--