Don’t You Know What You’re Doing to Families?! Yeah. I Do.

To the angry parents in my comments who still haven’t gotten it yet.

E.B. Johnson | NLPMP | Editor
6 min readNov 4, 2022

--

Image licensed with Envato Elements

Months ago, I released an article that empowered the adult children of abusive parents to both acknowledge and cut ties with those parents (if that’s what they needed to heal). This article was nothing new to my page, where I regularly talk about toxic parents and my own encounters with an abusive, narcissistic family.

All the same, this article landed me in a swamp of parental vitriol. For weeks, I received nasty and arrogant comments. One reader even created Twitter, TikTok, and Instagram accounts so they could write nasty comments on my social media and send me direct message rants that were as unhinged as their approach to harassment seemed to be.

Don’t you know what you’re doing to families?” this triggered mother wrote — repeatedly. “You’re destroying families. You’re disgusting. You deserve everything you got. You’re ruining relationships.

The truth is…I do. I know exactly what I’m doing to families. Not just any families, though. Toxic families. Abusive families. Narcissistic families that are built on the foundations of keeping children small and inferior throughout their lives.

--

--